iVote - jeVote Presents:

Electoral Reform in Canada
Thursday, 14 April 2016 - 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm
Registration required: 
Cost to attend: 
Free of charge
Event language: 

Join us for this discussion on the principles of electoral reform featuring:

Hon. Maryam Monself, Minister of Democratic Institutions

Nik Nanos, Nanos Research

Heather Scoffield, Canadian Press

Mike Pal, University of Ottawa

Jonathan Rose, Queen's University

Henry Milner, Université de Montréal

Tom Flanagan, University of Calgary

Nathalie Des Rosiers, University of Ottawa

Sitting Members of Parliament, including

Mark Holland, Liberal Party of Canada

Scott Reid, Conservative Party of Canada

Nathan Cullen, New Democrativ Party

Elizabeth May, Green Party

In its first Speech from the Throne, the Liberal Government promised consultations on electoral reform to make the 2015 federal election the last under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) system.

In an effort to stimulate this dialogue,, the Jean-Luc Pepin Research Chair (JLP) at the University of Ottawa is convening a public symposium with academics, researchers, public commentators and politicians on the principles of electoral reform in Canada.

What problem are we trying to solve with electoral reform? What outcome are we seeking through electoral reform? What are the commonly held principles that should underlie a new voting system?